All competitors in Africa Cup of Nations are known

Bleacher Report Football

All national teams, which will play in this year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt, are officially known now. The opening match will take place on June 15th.

The hosts from the country of pyramids had to play in eliminations due to change of an organiser. Cameroon held these rights until they were taken from them and Egypt received an opportunity to organise the championships. Unfortunately, it happened after the team advanced to the tournament through eliminations. Another 23 teams also had to fight for an advance. We’ll also see Cameroon competing for the trophy.

Senegal and Madagascar advanced to the cup from the group A, in the second group only Morocco joined the lucky teams, and in the third group only Mali will play in the tournament. The other teams are: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burundi, DR Congo, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Mauritania, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

The group draw will take place in the pyramids complex in Giza, Egypt on April 12th. The final game will be played in Kair, on July 13th. In opposition to the other editions, the whole tournament is organised in the summer, not in the winter in the middle of a season.

[photo: Bleacher Report Football]

No posts to display