Iga Swiatek joins the legends. The Polish woman reigns again in Paris!

Iga Swiatek, Roland Garros 2023 (wyborcza.pl)

Iga Swiatek wins the Roland Garros grand slam. It was an important victory for her. Thanks to this, she defended her seat as the leader of the WTA ranking and made history by equaling the greatest legends of women’s tennis in the number of French Open tournaments won.

It was a real thriller!

Iga Swiatek went to Saturday’s Roland Garros grand slam final against Karolina Muchova as a two-time winner of the tournament. However, this did not scare Muchova, who made her debut in the final of the Paris Slam. Despite a poor start, the Czech woman managed to win the second set of the meeting, and in the decisive game she managed to lead 2:0 in games. The Polish woman began to make up for the losses when she calmed down her emotions a bit in the third game of the last set. The Polish woman then won her first game. The Czech didn’t give up, and it was only after the score was 4:4 that she ran out of strength to continue the fight. Swiatek won against Muchova with the score 6:2, 5:7, 6:4.

Two hours and 49 minutes. That’s what Iga Swiatek needed this time to win her third Roland Garros final. It was probably one of the toughest matches of her career and the first Roland Garros final where she lost a set. This is the third Roland Garros final in which Iga Swiatek took part and her third win. This means that the Polish woman has 100% effectiveness on the Parisian courts. With this result, she even surpasses the undisputed king of the Paris slam, Rafael Nadal, who won Roland Garros a record 14 times. From 2005 to 2014, he won 9 out of 10 French Open titles, and from 2017 to 2022, he won 5 out of 6 titles. In all 14 finals, he was never driven to five sets and never lost. His record on the Paris courts is 112 wins, 3 losses (97.4%).

In addition to the fact that Swiatek achieves results similar to those of Rafael Nadal at Roland Garros, thanks to his successes at Roland Garros he joins the ranks of several other tennis legends. Swiatek equaled in the number of titles, e.g., with Kim Clijsters and Naomi Osaka. Of the tennis players competing in the 21st century, only four players have more Grand Slam singles titles than Swiatek.

Most Grand Slam tournament titles. All-time list and standings:

Margaret Court – 24

Serena Williams – 23

Steffi Graf – 22

Helen Wills Moody – 19

Chris Evert – 18

Martina Navratilova – 18

Billie Jean King – 12

Maureen Conolly – 9

Monica Seles – 9

Suzanne Lenglen – 8

Molla Bjurstedt Mallory – 8

among others Justine Henin and Venus Williams – 7

among others Martina Hingis and Maria Sharapova – 5

among others Iga Swiatek, Naomi Osaka – 4

Iga Swiatek has won the Grand Slam tournament four times so far. She won Roland Garros three times and the US Open once.

READ: Rafael Nadal has undergone surgery. When will he be back on the court?

READ: Verstappen: Alonso is better than Hamilton

No posts to display